One a Week - Project

By MarshallB

I Like To Boogie

After a few days of struggling for ideas I thought I'd try and capture this female mallard which has been frequenting the garden of late. It is interesting with animals how they have their preferred distance generally seems to be at the limits of a 300mm lens or maybe that's just me.

However with a little encouragement I managed to temp this one a bit closer. In this shot she is actually listening intently to a blue tit which was sounding the alarm in a nearby tree.

I have to say that it has completely surprised me what you see when attempting wildlife shots. I always thought the female mallards to be uninteresting compared to the more colourful males for example, but looking at them a little closer allows you to appreciate the fine markings they have in particular the eye line.

As for the day, well the weather theme continues, I'm sure there must be a scientific reason why ducks like gardens during prolonged days of rain. Maybe I'll find an egg if I'm lucky.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.