georgie girl

By georgie

welly wanging

Coming from Yorkshire, welly wanging was a popular activity at church fetes during my childhood in the '70s. It wasn't until a couple of years ago that I was given this wonderful pair of wellies by my husband for my birthday, which were well worth wanging. A few days after my birthday, Carlisle was flooded and these fab wellies rescued me and Little D. from the street outside our house, which had become a river at 3am. Scary! They take me to the park, having fun with Little D., they protect me from cow poo during our regular farm visits and, as much as a pair of wellies can be, they are true friends. (I may have had one glass of wine too many this evening!)

To quote Billy Connolly,

'If it was nae for your wellies, where would you be?
You'd be in the hospital or infirmary,
'Cause you would have a dose of the flu, or even pleurisy,
If you did nae have your feet in your wellies...'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.