Ikimasho!

By Hayls

Today I LOVED my job!

I had the absolute pleasure of visiting Camphill Blair Drummond today. The setting itself is stunning, with views of the Scottish countryside, buffalo, rhino, camels and zebras. Apparently if you arrive there really early you can hear the dawn chorus of lions roaring and monkeys chattering. I know!

The meeting I was there for was fantastic. The actual nuts and bolts part of the meeting took about 10 mins and the rest was pure pleasure. I was shown around the palatial building and the grounds and introduced to some amazing people busy working away in the bakery, the art studio and the wood workshop.

The blip shows a painting/sculpture created by the residents of Camphill, all of whom have varying degrees of learning disabilities. On face value it looks like a painting, but close up you can see things that the residents have collected from the grounds and stuck on. It really is rather lovely.

The staff there are amazing as well and I envy them the work they do and the beautiful setting in which they do it. They sometimes have open days, so if you're ever near Stirling....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.