bridget riley's eyesight

By gail

Box Pews

Paid an unexpected visit to a local church today to sound it out for an exhibition space. I am not a frequenter of religious buildings for the purpose of worship, in fact I was last in her more than 15 years ago.

Slightly more mature in years now, I could really see something amazing about the place - it is the only surviving church of the Elizabethan period left in London and is quite amazing. Lots of Tudor/Elizabethan brickwork and if one were into religion I should think this place would make you very reverent (and have a very cold bottom!).

I was intrigued by these box pews which are a Victorian addition, soon to be removed apparently in favour of traditional pews.

They hold restoration music events here, and it is the perfect setting for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.