Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Joshua Tree In Bloom

I posted this earlier in the day but it seemed to have been taken down for some reason. Puzzling.

I didn't get a good look at this plant because I saw it while I was driving, stopped the car in the middle of the road, snapped off the picture then kept moving. I don't think the woman behind me was too happy.

Anyway, not a good peek at the front. I need to brush up on my plants. So I'm hoping it's actually a Joshua Tree :-)

I only found one reference to a branch sticking out high out of a Joshua Tree like you see here. It appears to be new growth on an immature plant and that the bare stalk will become a thicker branch. The flower will still look the same at the peak of the branches. I never saw anything like it.

The effects of yesterday's weather lingers. The mountains are still shrouded in dust and the air quality is rated poor. Tucson experienced a rare desert phenomenon called a Haboob. It occurred during the hour I took my blip yesterday. There were reports of hail in the area, as well as 2500 dry lightening strikes and over 50 mph winds. Just south of the border even a small tornado touched down. So happy to see the sun out today!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.