Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

So proud

Today my youngest son played in a final at the Greenhous Meadow with his school side. They played so well and, I think, deserved to win. (Not that I'm biased or anything!) It was a little awkward as the school team they were playing consisted of most of their Sunday league team team-mates! It was 1-1 and getting very close to the final whistle when two defenders from the opposition team jumped up to stop a ball that was getting close to their goal. One of them landed badly and then the other one landed on top of him. It was clear to see that the injured player was in a lot of pain and the game was finished at 1-1 as it was so close to the final whistle anyway. We've since found out that the player actually broke his leg which is just terrible and something you don't expect in children's football. I wish him a speedy recovery. The match was declared a draw and both teams get to share the trophy which in a way is better than losing but there's always a 'what if...'.

I felt so proud of my son and the whole team who I've taught lots of times over the years, a few of them I've know since nursery. It's days like today that make me glad to be a mum. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.