The Ferg

By fergie

Heron

After months of inaction on the fitness front I talked my son into a walk so my wife dropped us off at a wee bay near Hopeman and we took the coastal path , a beautiful sunny day and a good breeze behind us. Its a fascinating walk , with the quarry where sandstone was recently cut for the Gaudi cathedral in Barcelona and the National Museum of Scotland, they have laid out next to the path a display of stone with prehistoric tracks of dinosaurs and other creatures when this area was a desert. We watched the fulmars, kittiwakes and gulls nesting and flying over the cliffs . A large section is along the beach from thelighthouse to Lossiemouth , and it got busier as we neared the town, After an ice cream we then walked the old railway line back to Elgin and saw some nice bird life. It wasn't till we got into Elgin I got reasonably close to A heron in the Park . Always been one of my favourite birds. My feet have acquired some blisters but got some nice photos and me and my son had a great day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.