Poppy

By Poppy

Noisy Neighbours

These are my nearest neighbours, and Ollie is learning that they have just as much right to be here as us! He has had a few half hearted attempts at rounding them up, but when they head towards him en masse, he bids a hasty retreat! Very strange having a burn nearby, there aren't that many in Orkney and it is interesting to see different birds after more than 25 years living by a cliff top. As well as the ducks and geese on the burn, there seems to be a family of suicidal moor hens, who get their kicks dashing out infront of the car. Haven't hit one yet, but I reckon it is only a matter of time!

This isn't going to be a journal of attempted clever shots, rather a journal of my life here. Life at a more relaxed pace, with different priorities and to my own agenda. I have lived next to the sea for 30 years, so it is a big change for me. This place is so sheltered and feels so very different that I feel I have moved hundreds of miles, except that my friends are all still within half an hour or so of me. I have been overwhelmed by everyone's kindness, help and support. Until you need them you don't realise how wonderful your friends are. Thanks to you all, you know who you are X

ps Saw lots of gannets while crossing the Churchill Barriers yesterday. Spectacular diving displays but tricky trying to take shots of them while you're driving!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.