Croft16

By Croft16

Favourite Field Flowers, plate 12.

A dreary sort of day, and I've spent most of it sorting the books out, dusting the shelves, and trying to create some order from the chaos. At least I know roughly where to look now to find a title!!

I've found a few treasures, this book included. OK. I knew I had it, but it's so nice to re-discover lost treasures. Titled "Favourite Field Flowers", it was printed in 1848. This book was L's, and mum gave it to me  a few years ago. It's a small A6ish size book, which has seen better days. The bindings are loose, there are pages that come out, but for a book of it's age, it's not bad.

There are nice little anecdotes about 50 or so of our wild flowers. But the highlight of the book is the 12 colour plates, and I will share these over the coming dark dreary days. They are delightful..

Todays plate, plate 12  is the frontispiece, and features : Lily of the valley (Convallaria majalis), The Wall-flower (Cheiranthus cheiri), The Tawny Geranium (Geranium Phaeum), and The Wild Strawberry (Fragaria vesca).

These plates are 166 years old, and these colours are still as vivid as the day they were printed. I've adjusted the white balance, rotated, and cropped the picture only.

I think they're too beautiful to have a musical distraction.. Enjoy..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.