Vaudeville and Beyond

From the very top of the balcony, each vocalist, each instrument, the smallest sounds could be heard clearly.  The Egyptian Theater In Coos Bay, OR, was designed and built with great acoustics in mind.  The backdrop seen here, was one of the original vaudeville backdrops that has been sitting silently behind a movie screen, unseen, for years.  When large, mega theaters became the norm, the theater seemed doomed to sit silent or perhaps disappear completely.  But housed within this beautiful building, is what is lovingly known as the Mighty Wurlitzer organ.  This organ gave the phrase "with all it's bells and whistles" it's meaning!  The inner workings of this amazing organ are beautiful, and all the sound effects of a silent movie could be made from it.

Tonight, we were thoroughly entertained by North Bend High School's Christmas Concert.  They probably called it a Winter Concert, but we all know it was a Christmas concert.  They performed excellently, and we heard the entire poem, The Night Before Christmas, read expertly by Mr. Hartman, while played by the orchestra.  The entire show was exquisite, and it felt like a community coming to life!

I so strongly miss the beautiful gray & black background of blip, that I doubted I'd feel like blipping again.  Blip is not only a verb, but it was a noun for me.  A solid, dependably...not like other sites...noun. 
Now it looks like several other sites and I am grieving the loss of all my old blips.  Sure, the photos are there, but I have them in other files as well.  It wasn't only the photo that made it a blip, it was the look of blip that made it special.  Blip was amazing, I wish you could see it.  However, none of these posts look like blip any more.  It is all gone, not even preserved.  Just changed.  There is no history when things are converted cart blanch.  My heart grieves for blip.  I have lost a very dear friend this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.