Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Looking for an answer...

I hate to say it but I'm having a lot of problems with the new-look Blip site... I'm not convinced by the new design - the old, grey Whistle Test (there's a reference for British music fans of a certain age!) look seemed much more elegant to my eyes! - and despite it apparently having become more accessible across a broader range of platforms, I've unfortunately experienced the opposite situation.

I do my photo editing, uploading and Blip browsing - not to mention my other online stuff - from a 1st generation iPad and it simply doesn't seem to be compatible with the new regime. I can't upload photos to the site directly from it, I can't post comments, I can't see the comments people have left under my own photos or anyone else's - because none of the buttons work for me - and I'm experiencing several other inconveniences too. I'm afraid I'm feeling rather flat and frustrated by the whole thing and seem to be left with a choice between shelling out for a new iPad (or similar) - not something I can afford to do lightly - or abandoning the World of Blip altogether, at least temporarily.

I tried to post this journal entry via email last night - as I've done in the past -  but it seems that option is no longer available so I'm now posting it from my work computer, which isn't something I really ought to start doing on a regular basis!

I don't like being grumpy but Blip has been such a source of pleasure and community for me over the last 3 years or so that it feels distinctly discombobulating to be cut so adrift from it so suddenly. I'm all the more wistful as my latest Blip book arrived today to remind me of easier times!

I'm going to ponder for a bit before doing anything drastic but I'm likely to be even quieter than usual for a while as it's not very easy/convenient to access the site using alternative devices at the moment.

I'm not grumpy on all fronts though and I'm sending lots of love and festive cheer to you all in the meantime! Including to all at BlipCentral - I know what a mighty upheaval this has been and I know it's impossible to please all the people all the time! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.