Through the rainbow

Somewhere in all of the Christmas party shenanigans last week, I ended up with the girls' car being left at the office in Kendal. So, this morning, I thought I'd run across and pick it up. I've never enjoyed running very first thing, so I got up, made a coffee, had some breakfast, pottered about, did some email, made a couple of 'phone calls, checked the weather app and, finally, around nine-thirty, I was ready to set off. 

There's no actual weather forecast for Kirkby Lonsdale, so I checked the predictions for Sedbergh, to the north, and Carnforth to the south-west. Sedbergh was dry, Carnforth had a chance of rain. As I went out the door, though, the skies were clear and I was characteristically optimistic about staying dry.

About a mile or so out of Kirkby, there was enough light drizzle for this rainbow to appear. The other side of it seemed to be coming down onto the road and as I ran along I could see that it did, indeed, look like it was disappearing into the tarmac. Even as I was just a few yards away I could still see the rainbow, although no pot of gold, and I ran straight through it.

Perhaps this will, at some stage, bring me good luck or something but, in the short term, it was a precursor to a sudden squall of heavy rain so that half a mile later I was soaked through. Still, that was the end of it and I quickly dried off as I ran through Old Town, Old Hutton, Middleshaw and Oxenholme. (Apart from the first mile, I feel like the Ready Brek kid when I'm running, so I don't really mind if it rains once I get going.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.