CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Raspberry, meringue and cream log at Gill's lunch

We were late leaving to drive over to Gill's home at Frampton-on-Severn this lunchtime but were still the first to arrive for her Christmas lunch party.  We were warmly welcomed by her and Peter, her husband, and I had a hard time avoiding being given copious alcoholic beverages by him.  I have decided not to drink at all when I have to drive, but it is still quite hard to refuse kind offers, especially when there was so much choice.

Various other friends of Gill arrived not long after, most of whom were either other musicians she plays with, or else members of the choir she sings with, including three teenage children from the choir and their singing parents.  We eventually sat down to a massive spread of a fine  three course meal, the second of which was this raspberry, meringue and cream log dessert prepared by Mary, which was delicious.  Luckily Helena suggested I photograph it, as it looked so good, before it was devoured by twelve happy eaters.  A third course of unusual cheeses was accompanied by fine port and coffee, then liqueurs and spirits to wash down the contents of a beautifully presented box of chocolates.  A grand time was had by all.

When we finally managed to leave I suggested going to the nearby town of Dursley, as I'd spotted a camera shop had the camera bag I had been thinking of buying and I wanted to look at it more closely.  A five mile drive got us there in time and we found the shop easily at the centre of the town.  A few minutes later and I became convinced and walked away with a proper bag at last, which might prevent me from dropping my lenses at inopportune moments!  I hope so.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.