Swimmers' Log Book

By BVD

Orchid from Mum

Horrible day at work today, to the extent that I had every intention of posting the back of my lens cap, or something equally dark. However, with half an hour to spare before my yoga class, I spotted my orchid and thought maybe a spot of photo-taking might do me good. It did, to be honest, and following my weekly stretching I do now feel a little better.

To fill you all in: The powers that be have decided to move me, ten weeks before the end of the school year, to a different class. I'm told it's because of my strengths, however I am gutted to be leaving my class prematurely. It's amazing how attached you get to the little rascals, not to mention the thought and planning I've given to the next few weeks' intervention groups that I run as well as the term's topic work and class text (mini beasts - my favourite, and Stig of the Dump, great story!). Plus I love working with my current class teacher, who, I am sad to say, is leaving the school this year. We have such a good rapport and share a strange taste for lemon and ginger tea. He happily lets me take over at times which has been so good for my confidence. I feel like an equal with him, not just the TA and he is so supportive. Not that I don't think I'll get on with my new teacher, just that I don't like change and don't want things to change just yet.

So I cried. Yes, in front of my teacher, the children and the boss (who is also leaving at the end of the year - more change). Oh well! I'm hoping the buds on my orchid are a symbol of good things to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.