twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Long day..... No, I know it was the shortest day, but....

My mate Alan booked a walk down Innerleithen way this morning. 1000 on the B7007 near Whitehope Farm to climb Whitehope Law.

I arranged to take Nic.O.La so trawled through Gorgie to check out a Cigs tag as recommended by middleman and was still too early so was treated to e bizarre procession of Chelsea tractors assembling on Waitrose's roof car park from 0840 onwards for an opening time of 0900.... Clearly foie gras is much sought after in EH10.

Then having collected my accomplice, we drove off into the gloom and duly wandered up a soggy and blustery wee hill to find three stones that signified the end of Al's quest to nab the 89 Donald summits over 2000 feet (but less than 2,500 feet) in the south of Scotland. (Tis was my - er - 4th, I think) A dozen hardy souls made it up and down; a decent morning run out.

The afternoon was more urbane; light Christmas shopping, followed by a spot of soup for lunch here, before returning to hers for a roast chicken dinner.

Then here I am at half past midnight on the shortest day,- still going strong...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.