Bonding

I'm pleased to report that the legs feel fine after yesterday's epic ride. I would have liked to have clocked up a few more miles today but I've ended up getting heavily embroiled in work issues. At least that's made me feel better about the fact that it's pretty much rained all day here.

There are five of us in the house here and we've all kept busy during the day in our different ways. What's been lovely has been snatching moments when we've been able to share a bit of space and conversation together. Most of all, I've loved chatting to my brother. We are so similar in so many ways, yet with very different ranges of experience and knowledge. We always have the most stimulating discussions. It's made me a little regretful that life hasn't granted us more time together, but also keen to make sure that there is plenty of opportunity in the future.

I've also had some lovely time with Jake today. He's in considerably better spirits than when I first arrived and, with my cold now gone, I was able to sit with him on my lap this afternoon and get to know him better. There really is nothing quite like engaging with a baby, establishing eye contact, feeling them nestle within your arms, tickling their perfect little feet, breathing in the smell of their hair. Best of all, though, is when they reach out to engage with you. The little fellow gripped my finger and just wouldn't let go for the longest time. I felt that I truly bonded with my nephew today.

Finally, I've not properly thanked everyone for all the wonderful comments and hearts and stars for my blips from the weekend. Many were from blippers whose names are unfamiliar. I'm really grateful for the feedback and the new subscriptions. It's not going to be easy to do any catching up before I return to England at the end of the week. All I can say for now is that you're just the most amazing bunch of people. I've got to get an early night here because I have to be up at 4.30am for a teleconference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.