Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

The old Income Tax Office #1

This is Fountain Street and the buildings In the centre all form part of the market building. This view will show its proximity to the Town Church. The Income Tax Office was in the first part of the white building next to the granite part and on the top floor of the granite part from, I think sometime in the 1920s until 1980. Income Tax was introduced in Guernsey in 1920 and before it moved here the Tax Office was above the other side of the market. I worked here from 1968 until 1980 and we had some wonderful times there. 

We, or should that be I,  quickly discovered that there was a door to some stairs that led up onto the roof of the granite building. From there you could somewhat precariously climb over the gap between the two roofs and get onto the roof of the white building. From there you could access the whole of the roof of the entire market. I'm not sure we were supposed to be up there but nobody said so and we didn't ask! I suspect I was the instigator of much of the mischief that went on there...

I've tagged this #1 because I may tell more Tax Office tales; I've been left long enough now...

Happy Christmas everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.