mc1r

By mc1r

Princess

Princess is the pigeon. Princess will often come and keep this Big Issue seller company, standing beside him for long periods. Today for example I think there was thirty minutes between me taking this and passing having done a bit of shopping - she was still there.

And so this is my century post - not necessarily the 'best' photo I've taken today but my favourite and that because of the story behind it. And I guess that leads to a bit of reflection on the first 100. Why do I do this, frankly I don't know. Curiously the man who persuaded me to do this (MGF you know who you are) has his 200th blip today, there's a nice synchronicity about that. He sums it all up pretty well actually, I want to take more, not less photos. Blip means that I never leave home without my camera, that my eye has become more expansive in terms of what it looks at, what I might like to think of as something I could try and photograph. But often, as with Princess, it is a photo with a story or of an event or moment that I want to preserve and/or share. That leads to another aspect of this site, one I hadn't anticipated: the amount of sharing of life stories and the generosity therein is amazing. I thought it would be all about the harvesting of ideas for future photos but it has been at least as much about the privilege of insights into the lives of others through their stories. Thanks.

Right here right now - I have a series on the go and I'm pleased to report that as someone who is trying to improve his colour work I have posted more colour than black and white. A pleasant surprise. Here's to the next hundred.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.