madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Bees eye view!

I went chasing clouds this afternoon but ended up with bees!
I saw an amazing cloud formation as I was in the garden pottering about with the chickens. I flew into the house, grabbed my camera, took a few shots then I had intended driving up to the top of the village, but on a whim went onto the road parallel to mine.  I was poking my camera through a fellow chicken coopers gate when he came out and invited me down - I did warn him I'd be hours! He thought I was joking but realised I wasn't and made me a cup of tea! We spoke bees and rats and views! I had thought bees hibernated in the winter, hence the bee boles of which there is a particularly fine set at the Lost Gardens of Heligan! I was wrong about the function of bee boles and hibernation! If it is warm enough, like today, they venture forth to defecate and this helps to keep the hive infection free! Literally don't shit in your own hive! They were happily flying in and out the whole time I was there!
So this serendipitous meeting yielded this bees eye view of the valley! I swear they have the best view of any set of beehives!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.