Village View

By norah

Sweet Woodruff

I went to a talk on Herbs at our garden club last night. It was very well presented with humour and lots of interesting tips and facts. There were masses of lovely herbs for sale in pots. Well, I couldn't resist a pot of apple mint and some dill, could I ?
Woodruff was mentioned, and pots of it were for sale. I was surprised to see friends buying it........because it grows VERY freely in our garden, and is VERY easy to pull up and pot up.
But I love it, because it just grows happily wherever you want it to, and doesn't mind if you pull it back when it starts to invade. Just now it is in flower, looking pretty and setting off other plants.
In the 14th century, woodruff was used as a bed-stuffing ! This must be why it is also known as Ladies in the hay!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.