Splashie

By Splashie

Our most significant Historical site

Freddie and I craving the tang of salt spent the day at the Wairau Bar where the Wairau enters the sea. We had a great day bird watching, playing chase the ball, walking, reading and paddling - not an area for either of us to swim, too much undertow.This blip is from the bar looking across Te Pokohiwi o Kupe ( the shoulder of Kupe).  This area has recently been identified as the location of the earliest human settlement in Aotearoa(NZ) when it was settled by Polynesian migrants, the Waitaha ca. 1300. Looming in the background is Te Parinui o Whiti (the White Bluffs), a landmark feature in our valley - where the hills hit the sea. I was surprised to see a couple of Royal Spoonbills when  I put the photo on the computer...the area is adjacent to  Waikarapi  (Vernon) Lagoon - extensive area of wetland home to many birds. Enjoyed ourselves so much I think I'll be visiting daily until I'm able to go back to my cottage by the sea.  The area is real gem to have on our doorstep - despite it still being the holiday season it was very quiet.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.