Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Marsh tit

Been up to my favourite place today: RSPB Leighton Moss. 

My main lens has developed a focus problem and I have had to make do with the old Canon 250 mm. Will try to write more later. 

Update: Leighton Moss (situated in Silverdale, Lancashire) has been the venue for BBC Autumnwatch for the last two years running. It is a great nature reserve, packed with wildlife from red deer to avocets and bearded tits. The cafe and the cake really are as good as Chris Packham says. The reserve has some well maintained hides and walkways. They are building what they call a sky tower and I can hardly wait for it to be finished, so that I can get up there and get a bird's eye view.
There weren't too many birds on the water today as it was frozen solid. At the end of the day I sat and watched a snipe slip and slide on the ice and then make the decision to come to within a few feet of the hide and prod its very long beak in the ground looking for food.
I did a little too much walking (limping) and my hip is very painful now, but I don't care - it will be fixed soon. I also have a poorly lens but that can also be fixed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.