The essence of the mess

By SunkeneyedGirl

I have no words. They won't come out.
One sided phone conversations are fun. Not for the other party, obviously.
They are there, the words. My head is absolutely full of them...buzzing around, flip-flopping up and down; some are even floating lazily off in their own little lexical cloudspace...but will they be constructive and get as far as the vocal chords and out, free, into the big, wide world, where they can dissolve into the atmosphere, as insubstantial as ether? No. They will not. They huddle around the larynx and try as I might, to evict them, to prise them out one stutter at a time, their grip becomes tighter and tighter and much as I screw up my face and my determination...the best is a splutter, a nonsense, a nothing.

Helicopters, thank goodness, make an awful lot of noise.

...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.