Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Mistaken

I'd make a face like that if I'd tried to munch into plastic.  

Young cattle will try anything... and by that I mean, anything.  This old bulk bag must have blown into the field and I found a group ripping it to shreds and trying to eat it, despite it not being that appetising.  
I leapt (at my age it was more of a scramble) over the fence and retrieved it as soon as I'd taken this pic.  

It wasn't a case of hunger. I guarantee the farmer brings extra hay twice a day and cannot be faulted.  The problem is a plastic bag that hasn't been disposed of properly.  The object, in this case, was farm or builders litter, very large and easily retrieved before, I hope, it did any damage.  

End of the year and, my wish is that we all think before we discard plastic ... that we all take the time to lift  even that which is left by others to maim our animals.  

It's not just the bulk bag... easily spotted and removed. It's the shopping bag swallowed by a farm animal. The tasty KFC wrapper ingested by a fox. The tiny object swallowed by a hungry bird or short piece of string that wraps around a leg.  The list is endless and the damage beyond imagination.

To one and all... have a wonderful New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.