A moment in time

By Skyegirl

Hoya

The day started off well. The Head Gardener and I took the Panda Bus through to Edinburgh, and walked along the Royal Mile to the Parliament Building. Had a little bite of lunch, then sat in the debating chamber and heard a debate on alcohol as it affected the armed forces (???)....... then we strolled back to the coach station. It was raining in EK, and also raining in Edinburgh. We took a wee break in the Museum of Childhool to get out of the rain; great little museum, and I took several photographs there, all potential blips. Crossing Princes Street, I also snapped the statue of the Duke of Wellington on his horse, not so stylish as the one in Glasgow as this one didn't have a traffic cone hat ! Then back to the coach and the journey home.

When we arrived in EK I realised I left my carrier bag on the coach..... with my camera, my fleece jacket and my umbrella. Hard smack on the knuckles for me. I have to wait until tomorrow at 9am to phone the lost property department and find out if I will get them back!!! Ah me!!!

So this is an emergency blip; this Hoya has quite a history. I brought a cutting back from Sweden a number of years ago, and it didn't take. However, my sister had also brought one back, and she was able to give me a cutting, which grew into a really big plant and I had trained around the arched 'window' in the kitchen. Then it began to fade and eventually it too died. I had given a cutting to my friend, and she was able to give me a cutting, and so the hoya goes on..... and on.....my friend's has now died, so a cutting will be going to her. Sorry to be so long winded.

Anyhow, it is a beautiful plant with lots of florets of small flowers, very strongly scented.... in fact the scent permeates the whole of our downstairs area. It also drips pollen, and is very waxy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.