The Fog of it All

I didn't have many opportunities for photos today, but this one sums it up. First, there's Kirby, one of my most photoed subjects over 2 1/2 years of blipping. Second, the fog hangs over the hills and fields, much like the fog of confusion over this new, and "supposed" improved Blip…er, POLAROID Blipfoto. 

While I have been too busy in the midst of the basketball season to fully critique the changes here, my overall impression of the new site from a user's standpoint is unfavorable. There is STILL no app, and I find that COMPLETELY unacceptable. I am no fan of the "glitzy" new site face, but that's not the reason I'm disappointed. I'm saddened because so many of the people I've come to check in on, and those who check in on my photos, are either leaving or considering leaving. I will stick around for awhile, but it's easy to see without looking too hard that the "small" community that I joined has sold out for the Big Time. Blip says it wants to "…tell the world's story." That wasn't possible before? The corporate moguls at Polaroid had to be brought on board?

Well, Blip…er, POLAROID Blip's gonna do, what POLAROID Blip's gonna do, with or without me. Kirby, not two minutes after I took this picture, stumbled in the tall grass, his arthritic limbs getting the best of him. Robert Hunter wrote in "Stella Blue", a Grateful Dead ballad, "…there's nothing you can hold for very long." True for Kirby, true for Blipfoto, true for all of us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.