Askival, Rùm

Today's the day ........................ to look back

This is a picture of me - taken in October 1973 - on my way up Askival on the island of Rùm, off the west coast of Scotland.

We were on our honeymoon, which we spent on the islands of Eigg and Rùm.  We didn't have two pennies to rub together but we were young and fit - with the whole of our lives stretching ahead of us - and we didn't require much to keep us happy.

The reason I'm showing you this today is that Will has decided to start going through the many hundreds of slides that he has taken over the years.  The idea is to reduce them to just a few, very special ones.  I know he's really trying hard, but I can see that it's not something that comes easily to him!  There's so many memories wrapped up there - that's the problem.  But in the end - they are just our  memories and the next generation will have a whole new load of their own.

In the meantime, I'm just enjoying looking back a bit with him - and remembering the days when climbing up such a mountain was something I would just take in my stride .....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.