Moments 1: a trophy

I did not expect to start my new series so soon but realised too late I had not obtained a blip of any kind so searched around the house and came up with this trophy. I was awarded the Jack Spencer Trophy in 2010 at my cricket club. This was the third occasion I had won this and likely to be the last as it coincided with my retirement from the role of chairman I had held for 13+ years. Though I am now President, it is more of a ceremonial role.

The trophy is given to the all round clubman or woman who has contributed most to the club in that year and so it marks work behind the scenes. I had led our 150 year celebrations that summer including writing a book on the club's history (still available at all good book shops, well I've got a few in my study anyway!) and organised numerous events. I had also taken the decision to step down from a variety of roles. On the presentation evening I was presented with this trophy and then somewhat surprisingly my son was asked to take the floor.

He is not a confident public speaker though he has Improved over the years. He gave a speech on my contribution to the club over the previous 33 years which almost brought a tear to my eye. It was a lovely speech as he presented me with life membership. It was a wonderful night and I was so pleased to accept this from him.

To complete the evening I then presented the club with the model of the old pavilion which I had had made as a memory of this fine old pavilion, now just dust! (Here link to picture of model on previous blip but no link facility)

It was a wonderful cricketing moment for me making all those many hours toiling at the club all worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.