Riplingham to Estoril...

They say that everyone has a book in them and in my case that's actually true.

On the 10th April 1995 I set off on a solo bicycle tour of more than 4,500 miles starting in Riplingham, East Yorkshire and finishing in Estoril in Portugal.

During the journey I wrote a book that I hoped one day I could have published and my memory would live on. To be quite honest it is just pages of me moaning about how much my backside hurts and trying to keep my bike running smoothly. 

There are some good bits - the people I met on the way, my interview with Radio 4 in Monaco, the offer of sex I didn't appreciate in Siena,  the exploding tent in France and being a special guest at an F1 party in Portugal.

After considering the possibilities I have decided to celebrate the fact that it is twenty years since my trip by publishing it on the internet as a blog day by day starting in February. 

Today's blip shows one of my pages of ramblings.....I will let you know when it is ready to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.