The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Blood Swept Land and Seas of Red

Our ceramic poppy arrived today from the fantastic display that once adorned the moat around the Tower of London. When looking at those many wonderful images from the period up to 11th November, it makes me wonder which part of the moat our poppy came from. 

As it arrived with a healthy dose of London grime (and still a little damp within its package), it was a little bit grubby and ironically I have done a little bit of touching up of the photo to stop it looking as though I had done a little bit of touching up that had gone badly wrong. I hope it looks okay.

Although I was at work on Friday, today felt like my first proper day back a work after the Christmas and New Year break as, with a few exceptions, everyone was back in the office today. As I completed my phased return before the break, I see today as the start of me getting back to normal. Having said that, I had a formal meeting with my boss as part of my application to reduce my hours so that I am only working four days a week and can be off on Fridays with Mrs W, who already has Fridays off. Hopefully not too long before that kicks in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.