Mr and Mrs J

Around 8 months ago I took some photos of this lovely couple and their daughter. They were really pleased with them and asked me if I would photograph their wedding. I knew that with the time of year and the afternoon ceremony that I would probably have to rely on flash which I am not comfortable with but I thought as I had 8 months to practice that I should stop hiding away and accept the challenge! Unfortunately life took over and I didn't get to practice as much as I would have liked so it made for a terrifying experience and I was way outside my comfort zone!! 

I have only had time to upload everything into light room and quickly flick through. I took a ridiculous amount of photos I think out of sheer panic that I wouldn't get any they would be happy with and I am still terrified that I won't have enough decent ones for them. Not sure if this is one of the best but it was one of the ones that needed little editing as it was taken when the sun finally decided to put in a brief appearance. 

It wasn't just the grey drizzly day that posed a challenge but the bitter cold so that no-one wanted to stand about for photos after the ceremony. Taking group shots at a wedding is like herding cats! 

The registry office was quite cramped (I struggled to stand far enough back to get a shot of them signing the register and where I was asked to stand during the ceremony I had to lean round the registrar to get a shot of the bride walking in!  I was told I couldn't use flash during the ceremony and that I wasn't allowed to move about or take photos when anyone was talking!) and there was nowhere at the reception venue to take photos so we had to make do with a sofa in the reception area for the group shots they had asked me to get.  I hope I did okay as I would hate for them to be disappointed. It was bloody hard work. But also lovely to be part of such a happy day for them.Its so nice when you see a couple that are so natural together and so obviously supposed to be together. Was ready for a big glass of wine when I got home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.