Life from city to village

By Gibbsangie

A&E or nothing....

It's been another long day, and I'm not the only one. Hospitals up and down the country are under enormous pressure, as many patients head straight for A&E. This sign, this morning, summed it up. It seems as if the signs only point to A&E, or just, "everything else". People don't seem to see other clear options, and without clarity, it's a really difficult decision for people to make. I know. I have been in the position where I've been debating whether or not to take a relative to A&E. Will I be unnecessarily bothering the service? Would self care be more appropriate? Should I wait - or would I cause more problems by waiting? And its hard for NHS 111, because sometimes, without actually seeing the person in front of you - its really difficult to make a judgement. And people err on the side of safety. Perhaps A&E's are a victim of their own success, as people see them as the safest place to go? I must admit, I have absolute confidence in the abilities of our A&E department. But then, my GP surgery is also excellent, and the pharmacists in my area are also very knowledgeable and helpful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.