Life with Alice

By elirin

Guard Dog

Mum doesn't like it when I sleep on the doormat, but I often do. In a way, it's the best place to be, especially when taking a nap. No one can come in without me noticing it first. Mum cannot sneak out with the trash unnoticed. I have now learned that this is a euphemism for all sorts of shady, no-dogs-allowed activites, but to her credit she usually actually tells me she's leaving to my face. And lastly, I have total control of the activities in our house, particularly should the vacuum cleaner start doing its noisy and somewhat scary business.

Mum reminds me that I have my bed, my second bed, my open car crate and no less than three spots in the sofa with blankets on them, just for me to sleep on. Softer, cleaner, nicer in every way. I know that. It just that sometimes it feels safer to sleep really close to your shoes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.