AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Oh

Well, having been a bit behind on the news yesterday, it seems that it wasn't such a beautiful morning after all. My heart breaks for those poor families and friends, and indeed for all Parisians. But seeing and hearing those wonderful citizens of la ville lumière stand together and proclaim their lack of fear was so moving. "Not afraid" indeed.

I fell completely in love with Paris, swiftly and most unexpectedly, two years ago and I so look forward to visiting again.

Local architecture can't really compare, but I noticed this nice juxtaposition of old and new whilst walking across campus this morning.

The gothic revival Great Hall was completed in 1894, and time and the elements have worn the red brick to a beautiful warm terracotta. In the foreground is Sign for Art, by Yorkshire-based artist Keith Wilson. It's 5 metres tall and is made of black polyurethane elastomer, which looks sort of rippled. As I understand it, it's inspired by his work in the 80's with deaf-blind students.

I love the red brick, not so sure about the black poly-whatsit!

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.