Goanna

Miles didn't give me a lie-in, despite it being the first day of the year. I was up with him and a pounding head bright and early. My mission: get him as far away from the camp as possible so that everyone else could stay asleep!

We wandered around looking at cicadas, spiders and wallabies until I felt that the others would probably be up. I passed Miles to Gina and went back to bed...

... and woke up some time later when the tent hit 4000 degrees. I emerged to an empty campsite. Everyone else had gone somewhere and I was left on my blissful own. I pulled up an inflatable armchair and sat and read my book. I was a little uneasy about the sheer size of this monitor lizard that popped out of the bushes right next to me, but he trundled away, looking for an open tent somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.