granpabear

By granpabear

TWO'S A PAIR

There are farm fields between here and Salem.  There are a lot of Hawks and Falcons that live off Rodents and such in these fields.  When it is foggy and cold these birds roost on telephone poles and trees along the road.  I always want to stop and get a picture of them, but I never do.  They would just fly off anyway.
Today I was coming back from Salem.  Two Hawks were setting in a field not far from the road, when all of a sudden, a third one came out of the sky and attack one of them from above.  When I spun the car around they were still fighting.  I pulled over and got my camera ready.  I inched the car within range, and lowered my window.  Just as I got the three lined up, one flew away.  I got this picture, and then a Great Blue Heron, that I hadn't noticed ran across the field and right past them.  Then a car went by and they flew a ways off,  and I got a few shots of single ones.
When I looked around I counted six Hawks and the Heron in that one spot.
My feeling is that there had been a little Jealousy thing about this female.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.