Greg5843

By Greg5843

The Tin Man

I was on a course in East Belfast and on the way home took a short cut because the Sydenham Bypass was queued back. I came across this Sculpture in a side street. Thought it was really good. I think it represents a Docker going to work with his lunch box and newspaper. It's only a short distance away from the Titanic quarter. When I was about 10 yrs old (40 odd years ago). My G'father had a small newsagents off the Shankill Road, Belfast. He took a holiday in the first week of July every year and my Dad and I looked after the shop. Opening it bout 6.00am. I remember the Dockers calling in for their Newspapers and cigarettes. But what I remember best was when Dad sent me down to McErleans Bakery to get the freshly baked Baps (Still warm) Hmmmmm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.