An Artist's Life

By MariB

French Invasion

Although you can't tell from the pictures, these guys are actually serious researchers who are delving into the Blackfeet tribe in Montana. They flew in from Paris, after the very notorious delay at the airport, and we began our walk through the history of the Blackfeet. Olivier is the madcap one...can't stand to have his pic taken so he mugs at every shot. Diego is more serious. He's originally from Venezuela, but is now a French citizen.
Why talk to me? I am an historian of all the Plains Tribes; especially the 7 tribes that call Montana home. I have lectured at various venues on the subject. They are the subjects of my sculptures and they are my friends. There is a certain protocol to addressing tribal elders and council members. You don't just charge onto the reservation and demand to speak to whomever is in charge. So I will introduce them to the newly elected officers on the council. They are armed with some knowledge now and the proper greetings.
How did they find me? My French teacher is the French Consul representative for Montana, Idaho and Washington. There are many French citizens living here as we are part of the original Louisiana Purchase. Being born within the boundaries of the deeded Purchase means American citizens can become French citizens very quickly and vice versa....all part of the original sale agreement in 1803. Voila!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.