Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Nous sommes Charlie

With France so much in mind, I was interested to see French flags at half mast in some of the places we walked along the beach.  I nearly blipped one at Aldburgh.  However, having read about Maggi Hambling's Scallop Shell sculpture on the beach I wanted to see it.  It is a memorial for the English composer Benjamin Britten, who got so much inspiration from this coastline.  Written around the upright scallop are words from Britten's opera, Peter Grimes: 'I hear those voices that will not be drowned'.  It seemed just right for family and friends in Paris and all who grieve there, so this is dedicated to them.

For the conventional view of the Scallop, see here

I am now going to do a bit of catching up on your journals, and will post my other Suffolk blips tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.