Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Transient Music in the Trees

I could here this gentle music whispering along the street. Curious, I followed it and found a tree covered in leaves and ribbons that were covered in bells.

An art installation, 'Drums between the Bells' created by New Zealand artist Tiffany Singh, celebrates all that is sacred to Melbourne. The Elm tree in question is located on the corner of Collins and Swanson Street and the work requires the deconstruction of the original piece by the public, only to create another piece elsewhere.

What I hear you ask?? Let me explain....

As of 5pm this evening the public were invited to remove a bell from this 'sacred site' and take it to somewhere else they feel is sacred in Melbourne. When its new home is found, you are asked to photograph it and send the image to a website. If you find a bell somewhere in the city, again you are encouraged to move it to a new location and repeat the process. The continued existence of the work is totaly dependant on public involvement.

I have to say, I thought this quite a beautiful idea and it was certainly a striking installation :)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.