The Erasmus Bridge, Rotterdam

This is Rotterdam's piéce dé résistance.  Sometimes it's called 'the Swan', or maybe more often than sometimes.  Of course it's no longer as brand-new as it used to look but the brilliant lighting makes it look as though it's just been hauled out of the washing machine after a 90-degree-Celsius cycle.  If I am on this bridge, it can only mean one thing -- most likely, there's a massive pile-up on the A16.  I'd rather waste diesel moving than standing still, so I opted to exit the city from the south and drive home on the A29.

To be honest, this wasn't the first set of shots on a bridge today.  On my way to work, the Brienenoord Bridge, that majestic bridge which is part of the A16 with 12 lanes, was open for FORTY solid minutes, the longest I have experienced so far, causing me to be late for work.  There must have been several tall container ships or heavily-laden barges that sailed underneath.  The moment it opened ... chaos.  The jams om either side rushed forward simultaneously and caused a traffic infarct which stretched far into the city and took at least an hour to resolve.  To my surprise, my students actually sat and waited for me! Weren't they just adorable? Hahaha!

When I took this shot, though, it was just a matter of waiting for a red light to turn green.  No sweat.

I had left my cam in the car, well-hidden, and regretted that later in the afternoon, when the sun suddenly reflected off the opposite building and my office lighted up in a sudden blaze that lasted about 15 seconds.  That would have been a super blip!

Arms didn't bother me much today, at least not as much as they bothered me last night.  Maybe I should sleep sitting up?  Some of you have suggested acupuncture and homeopathic treatment for the pain.  You bet I'm seriously considering those options.  Will ask my physiotherapist what she thinks.  When we were in India, after having visited Khajuraho with its Kama Sutra temples, we gifted her with a pocket edition of the Kama Sutra; the dedication read: "With physiotherapy you can become flexible!"

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.