Red on a green day

Wednesday is a green day for me, how about you?
I discovered many years ago that I am a synaesthete, as is my Dad.

Synaesthesia is a rare condition: few people have heard of it. To put it simply, synaesthesia is a psychological and neurological state concerning the visual and auditory areas of the brain. For those who have never known a yellow Friday, or a red July, it’s hard to understand how this curious phenomenon works. Most people have five senses: sight, touch, hearing, taste, smell. For synaesthetes, there is an overlapping of two or more senses. Aisthesis comes from the Greek word meaning sensation, while syn means together, or union. This mingling of the senses means a colour is produced in their minds. For some people it’s abstract things that conjure these colours — numbers, for example, or letters.

In my own case it’s days of the week. Those of us with this particular form of synaesthesia are considered more rare than those who only see numbers or letters. Rarer still are those to whom taste, smell and music produce colours.
My discovery of my own synaesthesia happened years ago when my Mum and Dad were talking about it, after listening to a programme on Radio 4.

When I explained it to Andrew he decided to test me. He wrote down my colour for each day of the week.
A year or so later he tested me. Of course I got every one of them right, because I have been living with these colours for as long as I can remember!

So, are you a synaesthete?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.