madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Wild Weather!

Gales last night - had to close the 3 cat flaps which are all at right angles to each other, as the wind was howling through them and blowing the papers around in my kitchen! Sleeping in the attic I swear I felt the house move! Contemplated bringing Milly and Tilly in but thought better of it, and worried the coop on the allotment would be blown over! (It wasn't!)
I woke at 6 and looked up out of the attic window above my bed to see a clear starry sky - so of course got my camera to try and photograph it! Much time later and with very cold hands and an expresso, I sat in bed with the electric blanket on full and looked at what I had got - looked good on the camera - not so good in Lightroom - but I suspect I may have inadvertently put a preset on it. Even if I have they still were not that good - research needed! Or advise if you have any?
Having followed friedaquilter's link to the Life Book 2015  a few days ago and deciding that this would be a good thing to attempt to do in this  year of my new life, I watched the first video and headed to Tavistock to buy Art supplies!   I can appreciate Art and like to think I have an eye for it, but seem incapable of making my hands do what I want them to and translating what is in my minds eye! Perhaps that is why I like photography! However just like with photography where I hope to acquire the technical skill, I am hoping I may discover the skill within me to create!! Yes, well, I'll see how that goes!!
On the way back having stopped to take this stream, which is soon to burst its banks if the wet weather continues, I found myself driving through hailstones, then sleet, then snow! Decided to dress even warmer for the allotment and headed off to tuck the chickens up in  bed. It was calm and there was a partially clear sky, but black clouds were looming! By the time I'd done the chores and photographed the last remaining artichoke flowerhead which had somehow managed to remain attached to its stalk whilst the others had been ripped off by the wind,  and the chickens had retired for the night, I headed home. Just in time as the black clouds unleashed hailstones again! 
Time to pop the camembert in the oven, unpack my art supplies and wonder if this is another flight of fancy, like the shawl knitting pattern and wool I bought from the Bovey Tracey Craft Fair, the felt  squares and other  materials to make chickens, the dry needle felting......
More Day in the life  photos here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.