SueV

By SueV

At Last A Walk!!!!

I seem to have spent the last three days just trying to get out and about to take photographs and to take Yan  a walk. I seemed to have been thwarted at every turn. First day not enough petrol to get to the garage (I am always doing this - it, shall we say perplexes my husband)) and I do not trust the petrol gauge in that car. It stays on 1/4 full for days then plummets to the far end of reserve accompanied by some sort of dire warning. So I had to get out the petrol can and go via other car (Marks) and by the time I had enough petrol to get to the garage it was going dark. The second day I set off and was turned back by a sudden hailstorm. I had decided to go on the scenic route to Penrith involving minor roads up a steep wooded hill side , which by the time I had got to the top was like driving on ball bearings. Quite how I got to the top when I was driving for ten feet then slipping fifteen I don't know (must be physics - laws of motion etc) . By the time it had stopped it was turning to ice and - you've guessed it,  was getting dark. Then there was today. Motor full of fuel, blue skies, dog in the back accompanied by 'brew kit when we came over a slight blind summit just ten minutes along the road when - bang!! I hit and disappeared into the biggest pot hole I have ever seen. It wasn't there yesterday.  I pulled in to survey any damage but couldn't really see anything obvious although the tyre did feel a little soft. After ringing highways and byways (there lies another story) I decided to go by way of Harolds tyres in Penrith to get it checked out. Just as well I did as it was flat by the time I got there , ten minutes. There was a huge indentation in the wheel rim. They repaired it by hitting it with a large long handled lump hammer and it restored the shape, filled it with air and waved me bye bye saying no charge. So we continued on our way towards Keswick when I realised the light was going and it would be getting dark when I had got to my destination. So we gave up again, stopped and chased the ball.

Incidentally the council had the hole filled, repaired and done and dusted within a half hour of my call. I know this because Mark went to photograph the hole  and there it wasn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.