Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Castle Cornet

This morning was very cold and showery.

We rang the bells for Sunday service then had our tower AGM where I was elected Secretary and Treasurer.  So a bit of admin work coming up in future; that should keep me out of mischief... or maybe not.

I'm seriously thinking of having my redundant Nikon converted to Infrared which I think would open up the range of photographs I'd take in Candie Gardens, the various graveyards and on the cliffs in the south of the island. It'll soon be summer so a good time to put get this done.

But back to today's photograph of Castle Cornet; the weather had improved when I called in at home to get my camera but no sooner had I crossed the road than it started to rain. I walked into my brother and his wife and arranged to have a meal out with them one evening but I still had to get a blip. So, I gritted my teeth and headed for Castle Cornet. Luckily the rain stopped just as I got there but the clouds were still pretty dramatic so I walked to the end of the breakwater and took a shot looking back past Castle Cornet to the town.

During the English Civil War, Guernsey was parliamentarian while Castle Cornet was occupied by the Governor, Sir Peter Osborne, and Royalist troops. Castle Cornet, which had been built to protect Guernsey, was turned on by the town of St. Peter Port, who constantly bombarded it. It was the last Royalist stronghold to capitulate (in 1651) and was also the focus of a failed invasion attempt by Louis XIV of France in 1704.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.