Surprise Opening

As I was putting dear Toto to bed tonight (he has a little snack of light dry food and lots of patting;) I noticed this lovely zygo flower in the dark all puffed up and getting ready to open so I told myself to remember to look at it in the morning as it would probably be open by then!

When I went back inside I passed my big LED torch and decided to go back outside with it and take some shots ::)

Toto thought it must be morning and made a big fuss even though it was only a few minutes since I left him, what a sweetie,! ;:0)

As I was taking the shots one side of the flower just sprang open, it gave me a little fright! I thought I might as well wait and watch the rest of it open but that was all it did and I got three mozzie bites so I gave up at that point! Still it made for a lovely shot!

They are stunning flowers and are almost as big as a mans hand! It's definitely a zygo cactus and possibly from Thailand, but I can't find any info about its origins so that may not be right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.