Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

The headband

When I was tidying out yesterday I came across this headband. It's ugly as anything, and not flattering (on me) at all. But the day before we climbed Mount Fuji we bought one of these each- really cheap- from a shop in Tokyo as a Team Fuji headband. Really, we should have probably thought more about our kit and what we might need than an impulse buy of three tangerine headbands but who knows, maybe they were the magic element that got us up and down that volcano? Perhaps those folk that had their proper walking boots, kit, sticks and oxygen didn't need it, they just needed a wee headband? There has to have been some magic involved, I've no idea still how we managed it. And thinking back, and indeed looking back, We'd drank quite a power of alcohol the night before.

We still don't really talk about the detail of that trek with each other. Far too traumatic! I'm just remembering the "toilets" as well. And the number of gummy bears we went through, having not packed any proper food, just junk and fruit.

Ha. I mean this should have me thinking, "Wow, if I can do that I can do anything!" But it's just got me thinking, "Wow. Volcanoes suck".

I'll keep the headband. Perhaps wear it to my next challenge...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.