Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Lace for Life

Today was a day of firsts. E finally managed to tie her shoe laces at age 8 and a few days. I'm not sure what the average age for achieving this goal is but I'm fairly sure she's one of the last in her class with Velcro shoes. No stopping her now, she's set for life.

In other news, I completed my first Race for Life this afternoon. Nothing could have prepared me for how moving it was. I honestly thought it would just be a bit of a laugh and a good way to raise some money for charity but to get there and see how many people were running in memory of someone who had died of cancer was just tragic. So so sad. I was crying before we even set off. I've always felt that J is really unlucky to have lost his mum to this disease but I realise now that we are pretty fortunate that this is our only loss. Some people had several family members listed :(

I really enjoyed the race and felt good through out which I will put down to the scrambled egg on toast I had mid morning. Yummy.

Personal highlights being seeing the family at 2 points on the route all cheering for me. My girls even chased me at one point. I was terrified they'd trip and hurt themselves. It was such a buzz I'm going to look for a half marathon for a few months time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.