Knowing your onions

When I was a child, back in the 1950s, you could only eat fruit and vegetables when they were in season. The year would start in January, with celery from East Anglia, black soil clinging to its long white stems, because it was only good to eat " after the frost had got at it ". Now you can get celery all year round, it's green, and to my mind tastes of nothing.
Cucumbers, tomatoes and strawberries were only around in the summer, it would have been impossible to eat them on Christmas Day. So wandering around the greengrocery section of the supermarket this morning, I was counting my blessings for all the wonderful selection of fruit and vegetables that I can enjoy all year round.
As far as I remember, you could always get onions all the year round,and they were probably just like these - round, brown and British, and the essential ingredient in lots of good things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.