Another Languedoc year...

By SweetApricots

Phew!

Mum moved into her lovely retirement home today. She's thrilled with her room and loves the balcony outside where she can sit in the shade of a tamarisk and watch the comings and goings. We were greeted by a welcoming army of nurses, helpers, cooks, doctors, handymen, administrators and residents.

I was expecting tears and sadness, but she has taken it all very positively so far. I had to go back to see her psychologist this afternoon, and found Mum positively radiant having had a very good lunch.

Parkinson's and Alzheimer's means that she won't be so chirpy overnight. It's always her most difficult time, but so far so good. I'll go to visit again tomorrow afternoon.

Meanwhile, I feel massively relieved as I have found her illnesses extremely difficult to deal with while she's been living with us. I felt sadness and guilt this morning, but seeing her in a place where she feels well supported and, for the moment, happy, I am relieved. I really hope her positive frame continues.

Her lack of French doesn't seem to be a problem. Many of the workers are good-humouredly dredging reserves to find long forgotten  English phrases, and one of the residents met us in the lift and broke into English when he heard us speaking together. I think she'll be fine. I hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.